You have 0 free articles left this month.
Register for a free account to access unlimited free content.

CPA Australia announces new board, president


CPA Australia has announced its refreshed board and new president this afternoon, with the board that existed in the leadership era of Tyrone Carlin and Alex Malley set to be entirely gone by 31 December. 

Promoted by Katarina Taurian 3 minute read

Nine new directors have been elected to the CPA Australia board, according to a communication sent to members this evening.

The new directors commence their terms on 1 October this year. Current president Jim Dickson, who took over from Mr Carlin when he announced his early resignation in June, will remain on the board until 31 December, as will Sharon Portelli, in the name of “business continuity”.

Terms for directors Michele Dolin, Richard Petty and Tim Youngberry end on 30 September. Director Graeme Wade will also retire at that time.

Peter Wilson, chair of the Australian Human Resources Institute Limited, has been elected president and chair of the board. Mr Wilson is also currently a non-executive director of the Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank and Vision Super.

Merran Kelsall, former chair of the Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board and current member of the International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board, is one of two deputy presidents. The other is Chin Aik Wong, who was the Malaysian divisional president for 2015 and 2016.

Directors also include public practitioner Caroline Spencer and Rosemary Sinclair, former CEO of the Australian Telecommunications Users Group and director at Australian Business School UNSW.

Partner in firm Brooke Bird and insolvency specialist Robyn Erskine has also been appointed to the board. She is currently deputy president of CPA Australia’s Victorian Divisional Council.

Former banking executive Helen Lorigan, who is currently venture partner at venture capital company Sapien Ventures, has been appointed to the board. She was also former head of wealth strategy at ANZ.  

Jon Scriven, who currently holds the position of group executive HR and office of the CEO with Qantas, and Ric De Santi, currently deputy auditor general and chief operating officer with the Tasmanian Audit Office, were also elected. 

The new board will be responsible for selecting a chief executive for the association, which is currently being led by interim chief executive and former company secretary Adam Awty.

More to come shortly. 



Katarina Taurian


You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments will undergo moderation before they get published.