You have 0 free articles left this month.
Register for a free account to access unlimited free content.

Govt names new appointments to Board of Taxation


The government has announced three new appointments to the Board of Taxation.

Promoted by Michael Masterman 2 minute read

Neville Mitchell, Karen Payne and Ann-Maree Wolff have all been appointed to the board, while John Emerson has been made deputy chair after serving several years as a board member.

Assistant Treasurer Josh Frydenberg said the new appointments will put the board in a strong position to support the national debate around tax reform coinciding with the government’s tax white paper process.

Mr Mitchell has been chief financial officer and company secretary of Cochlear Limited since its listing in 1995 and is president of the Group of 100, a peak body for the senior finance executives at Australia's largest private and public business enterprises.

Ms Payne is a partner in Minter Ellison's tax practice and has previously assisted the board as an expert panel member on a number of reviews. She is a member of the tax committees of the Law Council of Australia and Property Council of Australia.

Ms Wolff is currently Asia Pacific head of tax for Rio Tinto and has been involved in tax policy development as part of her roles on the executive committee for the Corporate Tax Association and tax committees for the Business Council of Australia and Minerals Council of Australia.

The appointments of Mr Mitchell, Ms Payne and Ms Wolff are for a period of three years; the reappointment of Mr Emerson is for a period of two years.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body, contributing a business and broader community perspective in improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments will undergo moderation before they get published.