You have 0 free articles left this month.
Register for a free account to access unlimited free content.
accountants daily logo

Federal government reveals organisation appointments


It will see a merit-based recruitment process commence for one commission head.

By Josh Needs 12 minute read

Following the appointment of Peter de Cure as the chair of the Tax Practitioners Board (TPB), the federal government has revealed additional appointments across its other organisations. 

The most notable change is Michael Brennan, who advised the government he would not seek reappointment as chair of the Productivity Commission. 

In a statement, Treasurer Jim Chalmers thanked Mr Brennan for his efforts and said a thorough recruitment process will be undertaken. 


“I thank Mr Brennan for his commitment and significant contribution to the commission’s work over the past five years,” said Dr Chalmers. 

“This includes the recently released 5-Year Productivity Inquiry, which was an important addition to the national debate about lifting Australia’s productivity performance. 

“The Albanese government is committed to ensuring the Productivity Commission remains strong and effective into the future, providing world-class advice on productivity as well as prosperity and progress more broadly.” 

Dr Chalmers also announced Rosheen Garnon would be reappointed as the chair of the Board of Taxation for three years running till 25 March 2026. 

Ms Garnon first held the role in March 2020 with over 30 years of experience in the taxation field which included her position as a senior partner at KPMG. 

The reappointment to the part-time position means she would continue to support the board by providing advice on the design and operation of taxation laws. 

“She is highly regarded by the tax community and has extensive experience advising both domestic and global organisations,” said Dr Chalmers. 

“The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body that provides the government with advice on tax policy.” 

“It undertakes in-depth reviews as requested and provides input on tax policy and law design matters.” 

The government also announced the reappointment of Mick Keogh for a further five years as a deputy chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC). 

Mr Keogh had held the role as a deputy chair of the ACCC since 2018 and was previously associate commissioner from 2016 to 2018. 

Dr Chalmers said the reappointment of Mr Keogh meant the organisation would retain key insights from his “extensive experience working with small businesses across the economy, particularly in the agricultural sector.”   


You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!
Josh Needs

Josh Needs


Josh Needs is a journalist at Accountants Daily and SMSF Adviser, which are the leading sources of news, strategy, and educational content for professionals in the accounting and SMSF sectors.

Josh studied journalism at the University of NSW and previously wrote news, feature articles and video reviews for Unsealed 4x4, a specialist offroad motoring website. Since joining the Momentum Media Team in 2022, Josh has written for Accountants Daily and SMSF Adviser.

You can email Josh on: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments will undergo moderation before they get published.

accountants daily logo Newsletter

Receive breaking news directly to your inbox each day.