You have 0 free articles left this month.
Register for a free account to access unlimited free content.
accountants daily logo

New TPB chair unveiled


The Tax Practitioners Board’s new chair will come from within its own ranks, with board member Ian Klug announced as the replacement to outgoing chair Ian Taylor.

By Jotham Lian 11 minute read

Treasurer Josh Frydenberg has announced the appointment of Mr Klug as the new chair of the TPB, after Mr Taylor ended his six-year term on 21 January.

Mr Klug, a former partner at Pitcher Partners, is a fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He was appointed as a board member in 2015, and is the current chair of the Water and Carbon Group, and international planning and design company, Place Design Group, and is a non-executive director of the Brisbane Festival.


Mr Klug’s previous roles include being the chair of Queensland Artworkers Alliance, director of Tennis Queensland and councillor of Tennis Australia.

He was awarded an Australian Sports Medal in 2000 and made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2017.

“Having been a board member for the past three years, I feel very privileged to now be given the opportunity to chair the TPB,” said Mr Klug.

“I welcome the challenges of the role and will continue our work to protect consumers of tax services, and lead the TPB as an efficient and effective regulator of tax agents, BAS agents and tax (financial) advisers.”

Mr Frydenberg also welcomed the appointment of new member Debra Anderson, and the reappointment of Dr Julianne Jaques, Greg Lewis and Jim Hawson, who will all serve for a three-year period.

Ms Anderson, an experienced BAS and tax agent, is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, The Tax Institute, and the National Tax and Accountants’ Association.

“The government congratulates Mr Klug and other members on their appointment and reappointment, and looks forward to working with them into the future,” said Mr Frydenberg.

“The government also wishes to thank outgoing chair Mr Ian Taylor for his significant contribution over the last six years.”

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Jotham Lian

Jotham Lian


Jotham Lian is the editor of Accountants Daily, the leading source of breaking news, analysis and insight for Australian accounting professionals.

Before joining the team in 2017, Jotham wrote for a range of national mastheads including the Sydney Morning Herald, and Channel NewsAsia.

You can email Jotham at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments will undergo moderation before they get published.

accountants daily logo Newsletter

Receive breaking news directly to your inbox each day.