accountants daily logo

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

CPA announces new board directors

CPA Australia has announced the appointment of two new directors to its board as well as one reappointment, bringing the total number of board members to 10.

Appointments Jotham Lian 24 August 2018
— 1 minute read

Today, CPA Australia announced the appointment of two new directors – Professor Dale Pinto and Su-Yen Wong to the board. Ric De Santi has also been reappointed to the board.


Each director will serve for a three-year term beginning 1 October 2018, join existing directors, including president and chair, Peter Wilson; Merran Kelsall, deputy president; Chin Aik Wong, deputy president; Robyn Erskine, director; Helen Lorigan, director; Rosemary Sinclair, director; and Caroline Spencer, director.

The appointments were made by the appointments council, with representatives from each of CPA Australia’s 13 division and branch councils.

The appointments council was one of the four board-endorsed special resolutions presented at CPA’s 2018 AGM which received the required 75 per cent votes in favour to go through.

Another board-endorsed special resolution – to have a maximum of 10 directors including a minimum of 2 non-member directors, while increasing the term of a president to three years – was also voted in.

New director Ms Wong and current director Ms Lorigan will make up the two non-member directors of the 10-strong board.

Incoming director Professor Pinto is a professor of taxation law in the Curtin Law School as well as being the chair of the academic board at Curtin University.

He currently serves as a member of the WA Divisional Council and was President of the WA Divisional Council in 2018 but following his appointment to the CPA Australia Board, Professor Pinto will step down as the WA Divisional Council President on 30 September 2018. He will continue to serve as a divisional councillor until the end of 2018.

Ms Wong was previously chief executive of Human Capital Leadership Institute, and prior to that, chair (Singapore) for Marsh & McLennan Companies, and senior partner and managing director, Southeast Asia at Mercer.

She currently serves on the board of several public, private and not-for-profit organisations including, Nera Telecommunications Ltd, MediaCorp Pte Ltd, and NTUC First Campus.

Mr De Santi is presently the deputy auditor general and chief operating officer with the Tasmanian Audit Office. He is also currently a member of the Australasian Council of Auditors-General (ACAG) technical group, the Financial Reporting and Accounting Committee and chair of ACAG’s Heads of Financial Audit Group.

He served on CPA Australia’s Tasmanian Divisional Council from 2005 to 2014, was president of that division in 2009, and returned to council in 2017,

Earlier this year, CPA Australia said it had set director remuneration at $75,000, 24 per cent less than previous remuneration figures.

More to come.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

CPA announces new board directors
image intro
accountantsdaily logo
Jotham Lian

Jotham Lian

Jotham Lian is the editor of Accountants Daily, the leading source of breaking news, analysis and insight for Australian accounting professionals.

Before joining the team in 2017, Jotham wrote for a range of national mastheads including the Sydney Morning Herald, and Channel NewsAsia.

You can email Jotham at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.